Friday, 29 June 2018 17:00

Delegation of the Committee on European Integration ends its visit to Zagreb

The Protocol on Cooperation between the two parliamentary Committees on European integration was signed

Chairperson of the Committee on European Integration Mr Adrian Vuksanović and Chairperson of the European Affairs Committee of the Croatian Parliament Mr Domagoj Ivan Milošević have signed the Protocol on Cooperation of the two committees in Zagreb today.

The protocol provides for a stronger inter-institutional dialogue and exchange of information and views aimed at joint action of the two parliaments at the European level, sharing of expertise from the EU accession process and implementation of the European legislation, as well as promotion of the significance of the role of national parliaments in the European integration process.

Furthermore, today the Committee delegation met with Ms Vesna Pusić, member of the European Affairs Committee and former Chairperson of the National Committee for Monitoring the EU Accession Negotiations. Ms Pusić presented the functioning of the former working body in charge of controlling Croatia's accession process, as well as the experience of cooperation and communication in the pre-accession period.  The meeting particularly emphasised the significance of political coordination and further work on keeping the citizens informed even after joining the EU.

At the end of the visit, the delegation was received by Ms Marija Pejčinović-Burić, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia. Chairperson Vuksanović expressed his gratitude for Croatia’s support provided to Montenegro on its path to the EU, and pointed out the significance of each country's individual merit-based progress. Ms Pejčinović-Burić emphasised the excellent bilateral relations between the two countries, and called for the strengthening of economic and energy cooperation. The meeting confirmed that Croatia would continue to support Montenegro’s European path through diplomatic efforts and expert and technical assistance.

In addition to Chairperson Vuksanović, the delegation of the Committee consisted of members of the Committee Mr Mihailo Anđušić and Mr Momčilo Martinović, as well as MP Mr Miloš Nikolić, member of the Committee on International Relations and Immigrants.