Thursday, 12 July 2018 15:37

Fifteenth SAPC meeting

Podgorica, 16 and 17 July 2018

The Fifteenth meeting of the European Union - Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) will be held on 16 and 17 July 2018 in the Plenary Hall of the Parliament of Montenegro.

The meeting which will begin on 16 July 2018 at 15:15 will be co-chaired by President of the Parliament of Montenegro Mr Ivan Brajović, on behalf of the Montenegrin delegation to the SAPC, and MP Mr Peter Kouroumbashev, on behalf of the EP delegation. The SAPC meeting will be held in the extended composition with representatives of the Constitutional Committee of the Parliament of Montenegro and of the EP Committee on Constitutional Affairs in attendance.

Following the introductory addresses by representative of the Government of Montenegro, the chief negotiator of Montenegro with the European Union Mr  Aleksandar Drljević, representative of the Chairperson of the Council of the European Union, the Austrian Ambassador to Montenegro Ms Anna Janković, and the representative of the European Commission, the EU Ambassador Mr Aivo Orav, it was planned for the SAPS members to exchange views on the state of accession negotiations and relations between the EU and Montenegro, the role of the Parliament in strengthening democratic processes and electoral reform, the rule of law, judicial reform and the fight against corruption, as well as fundamental rights and freedoms, with focus on free and professional work of the media and protection of private property.

On day one,  the SAPC meeting will be preceded by the meeting of the President of the Parliament of Montenegro Mr Ivan Brajović with members of the European Parliament’s delegation, which will be held in Villa Gorica, starting at 10h.

The second working day of the Fifteenth SAPC meeting will begin on Tuesday 17 July 2018 at 9:30, focusing on topics regarding good neighbourly relations and regional cooperation, as well as economic development. The meeting will be concluded with the adoption of the declaration and recommendations.

Following the meeting, SAPC co-chairs Mr Ivan Brajović, President of the Parliament of Montenegro, and Mr Peter Kouroumbashev, head of the EP delegation, will deliver press statements at the press position in the hall of the Parliament, at 12:30.

The EU-Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) was set up in June 2010, upon the entering into force of the Stabilization and Association Agreement. The Committee composed of members of the Parliament of Montenegro and the European Parliament meets twice a year. SAPC considers all aspects of relations between the EU and Montenegro and, in particular, the implementation of the Stabilisation and Association Agreement.


On Monday 16 July and Tuesday 17 July, media representatives may follow the meeting from the Red Room. In case that journalists/photo-reporters do not have permanent accreditation card, they are required to register via email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. For any additional information, the media may contact the Department for Public Relations and Protocol (contact person Ms Mirha Tahirović at 067 646 364).